The IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) is a two-year programme of study which students at Renaissance International School typically follow between the ages of 14 and 16. Designed and administered by the Cambridge Assessment, IGCSE has been specifically created for international students, though it is also taught by top national schools in the UK. The two-year course is taught in over 700 British and international Schools in over 100 countries. The programme leads to a certificate that is internationally recognised. It has been accepted as a preliminary requirement for entry into all UK universities and is recognised by universities and colleges around the world.


Every subject within the IGCSE programme is assessed on an eight-point scale of grades from A* to G. Any student failing to reach a grade G is awarded a grade U (Unclassified). An A* is an exceptional grade, given to approximately the top 7 % of students within each subject.

Method of Assessment

The method of assessment varies from subject to subject. In all subjects, however, a significant percentage of the final grade will be based on the examination results achieved at the end of Year 11. In some subjects there is a coursework component. More information about this can be found in the IGCSE options booklet and on the Cambridge Assessement website.

Subjects Available at Renaissance International School

At Renaissance we offer core subjects that are compulsory – including English, Mathematics, Language A and Coordinated Sciences. Students normally study between 6 and 9 IGCSE subjects. We also offer a broad range of subjects for students to choose from and encourage students to maintain a balance of subjects by offering choices within languages, humanities and social sciences, mathematics and creative, technical and vocational subjects.

The subjects that we offer include:

For further detail about curriculum content and assessment please see the IGCSE booklet and the Cambridge Assesssment website.

Progression to the IB Diploma

For students wishing to join the High School Diploma at Renaissance in Year 12, a minimum requirement of 5 grades between A* and C is expected. These must include Mathematics and English. Students who fail to achieve the necessary standard have the option of taking part in the IB Certificates Programme.

Download IGCSE HANDBOOK 2018/19

Cambridge Assessment IGCSE website